Report Builder vs. Tempo Timesheets - A comparison of two Jira time tracking tools | Actonic – Unfolding your potential

Report Builder vs. Tempo Timesheets – A comparison of two Jira time tracking tools

To succeed in project management, you need to know your resources. Since the most crucial resource in project management is the team and their time, project managers need to be aware of their team's time on tasks and the number of issues their team is tackling.

The tools project managers use play an essential part in their success. The agile tool Jira by Atlassian and the Atlassian ecosystem provide solutions to effectively use Jira time tracking and create Jira time tracking reports for finished work. Two of those solutions are the time tracking apps Tempo Timesheets and Actonic's Report Builder. This article will take a closer look at those two Jira reporting plugins and compare them.

Report Builder vs. Tempo – A comparison

A Jira reporting tool has to include features that allow the user to create Jira time tracking reports efficiently. One of these is the option to create individual timesheets in different views. On this point, Report Builder wins in this category because of its calendar view, where months and weeks can be displayed and edited.

Category

Feature

Report Builder

Tempo Timesheets

Individual time sheets with different views

Calendar view:
Weeks and months are displayable. Time details are editable.

Yes No

Another essential feature is to provide the ability for users to create Jira custom reports and allow them to change the report’s parameters. Here, Report Builder also delivers some benefits – Reports can be calculated for a certain period and can be generated by grouping the used data in a selectable order.

Category

Feature

Report Builder

Tempo Timesheets

Reports with customizable parameters

Creation of reports for specific time frames.

Yes Yes

Reports contain the ability to “group by specific parameters or to in free order.

Yes No

While working with teams, it is essential to always keep an overview of the workload of teams and create reports based on the team as a filter. Both Report Builder and Tempo provide users this ability.

 

Category

Feature

Report Builder

Tempo Timesheets

Working with teams

Creation of teams and linking them to projects.

Yes Yes

Calculation of reports for a team based on the team as the chosen filter.

Yes Yes

Jira time tracking requirements are unique across different teams and companies. Therefore, it is essential to allow the users to customize their Jira reports by using coding languages like HTML and JavaScript. Report Builder is a leader in this space, offering more and better features than Tempo Timesheets.

 

Category

Feature

Report Builder

Tempo Timesheets

Scripting of your own reports

Creation of ANY report, not only based on tracked time, but on custom data.

Yes No

The opportunity to create any report by using the integrated gallery, including powerful visualization libraries.

Yes No

Customization of reports with HTML or JavaScript.

Yes No

The winner in our comparison is Report Builder. With Report Builder, timesheets can be customized to meet unique needs, reports can be also customized and edited using HTML and JavaScript.

Try out Report Builder for free for 30 days by clicking on this link, and create any report imaginable with the fastest reporting tool on the market.

Test Report Builder for 30 days for free now:

You want
to know more?

Contact us to talk to our experts and have all your questions answered.

Non binding
inquiry

Report Builder vs. Tempo Timesheets - Ein Vergleich zweier Jira Reporting Tools | Actonic GmbH

Report Builder vs. Tempo Timesheets – Ein Vergleich zweier Jira Reporting Tools

Wer sein Projektmanagement erfolgreich gestalten will, muss seine Ressourcen genau kennen. Da die größte Ressource im Projektmanagement der Mensch und dessen Zeit ist, ist es wichtig über den Zeitaufwand, den Mitarbeiter für ihre Aufgaben aufwenden, genau Bescheid zu wissen. Auch im Projektmanagement mit dem agilen Tool Jira von Atlassian ist es wichtig, hierüber stets einen klaren Überblick zu behalten.

Die Werkzeuge, die von Projektmanagern genutzt werden, spielen eine essenzielle Rolle für deren Erfolg. Um Time Tracking in Jira effektiv anzuwenden und Jira Reports zum Zeitaufwand für die verrichtete Arbeit zu erstellen, bietet das Atlassian Ökosystem verschiedene Lösungen an. Zwei dieser Lösungen sind die Time Tracking App Tempo Timesheets und Report Builder von Actonic. Diese beiden Lösungen werden in diesem Artikel genauer betrachtet und miteinander verglichen.

Report Builder vs. Tempo – Der Vergleich

Ein Zeiterfassungstool muss einige bestimmte Eigenschaften und Funktionen enthalten, um ein effektives Reporting in Jira zu ermöglichen. Dazu zählt die Möglichkeit individuelle Stundenzettel in unterschiedlichen Ansichten zu erstellen. Hier weiß Report Builder durch seine Kalenderansicht, in der sowohl Monate als auch Wochen anzeigbar und editierbar sind, zu überzeugen.

 

Kategorie

Feature

Report Builder

Tempo Timesheets

Individuelle Stundenzettel inklusive unterschiedlicher Ansichten

Kalenderansicht:
Wochen und Monate sind anzeigbar. Zeitangaben sind ergänzbar.

Ja Nein

Eine weitere wichtige Funktion, um in Jira Reports zu erstellen, ist die Möglichkeit Parameter des Berichts verändern zu können. Auch hier hat Report Builder einige Vorteile: Berichte können für einen bestimmten Zeitraum kalkuliert und mit spezifischen Filtern erstellt werden. Dazu können Berichte hier durch eine Gruppierung in einer selbst wählbaren Reihenfolge erstellt werden.

 

Kategorie

Feature

Report Builder

Tempo Timesheets

Berichte mit anpassbaren Parametern

Erstellung von Berichten für bestimmte Zeitspannen.

Ja Ja

Erstellung von Berichten mit „Gruppierung“ in individuell anpassbarer Rangfolge.

Ja Nein

 

Für die Arbeit mit Teams in Jira ist es wichtig, mithilfe von Jira Berichten einen besseren Überblick über die Teamarbeit erhalten. Hierfür können in beiden Tools Teams erstellt und diese Teams als Filter verwendet werden.

 

Kategorie

Feature

Report Builder

Tempo Timesheets

Arbeit mit Teams

Erstellung von Teams und Verknüpfung mit Projekten.

Ja Ja

Erstellung eines Berichts für ein Team, basierend auf der Auswahl des Teams als Filter.

Ja Ja

 

Anforderungen an Berichte können von Unternehmen zu Unternehmen komplett verschieden sein. Deshalb ist es wichtig beim Jira Reporting durch Codesprachen wie HTML und JavaScript Berichte selbst coden zu können. Auch hier hat Report Builder im direkten Vergleich die Nase vorn. Aber sehen Sie selbst:

 

Kategorie

Feature

Report Builder

Tempo Timesheets

Eigenes Coden eines Berichts

Erstellung von ausnahmslos jeder Art von Berichten, nicht nur basierend auf der erfassten Zeit, sondern auch auf weiteren Daten.

Ja Nein
Möglichkeit jeglichen Bericht mit Vorlagen der integrierten Galerie inklusive Designbibliotheken zu erstellen. Ja Nein

Individualisierung von Berichten mittels HTML und JavaScript.

Ja Nein

 

In unserem Vergleich der Jira Reporting Tools liegt Report Builder gegenüber Tempo Timesheets vorn. Hier können Stundenzettel individueller gestaltet, Berichte speziell angepasst und mittels HTML und JavaScript bearbeitet werden.

Natürlich bekommen Sie einen tieferen Einblick in Report Builder, indem Sie das Tool aktiv anwenden und nicht nur in der Theorie darüber lesen. Dafür geben wir Ihnen die Möglichkeit  den „Alleskönner“ im Jira Reporting unverbindlich für dreißig Tage zu testen.

Testen Sie Report Builder jetzt umsonst und unverbindlich für 30 Tage: 

Sie möchten
mehr erfahren?

Kontaktieren Sie unsere Experten zur Beantwortung Ihrer individuellen Fragen.

Unverbindlich
anfragen